NIH 1998 Almanac/The Organization/CSR/      

Center for Scientific Review: Biographical Sketch of CSR Director

Ellie Ehrenfeld, Ph.D.

In January 1997, Dr. Ehrenfeld, former professor of molecular biology and biochemistry and dean of the School of Biological Sciences at the University of California, Irvine, was sworn in as the ninth CSR director. She earned a B.A. degree, cum laude, in chemistry from Brandeis University, and a Ph.D. degree in biochemistry from the University of Florida.

She conducted postdoctoral research at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine in the department of cell biology and subsequently served on the faculty there. In 1974 she became associate professor in the microbiology and biochemistry departments at the University of Utah College of Medicine, rising to the position of professor of biochemistry and cellular, viral and molecular biology. In 1992 she became dean of the School of Biological Sciences at the University of California, Irvine, where she served until assuming her current post.

Dr. Ehrenfeld’s studies of poliovirus elucidated the mechanism of virus-induced inhibition of host cell protein synthesis and the role of RNA-dependent RNA polymerase. This work and her studies of hepatitis A virus have direct impact on creation of new antiviral drugs and vaccines. Her research has been supported continuously by NIH for 23 years and she was an NIH Merit awardee.

She is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Bill Joklik Lectureship Award, American Society of Virology; Outstanding Professor Award, University of Utah School of Medicine; Dreyfus Teacher Scholar Award; USPHS Career Development Award; honorary member, Association of Microbiology of Chile; and Merck Faculty Development Award.

Dr. Ehrenfeld has served as member or chair of many peer review committees: Genetic Basis of Disease Review Committee, NIH (chair); FDA Vaccines and Related Biological Products Advisory Committee; National Multiple Sclerosis Society Advisory Committee on Fundamental Research; Research Advisory Panel, U.S. Army Medical Research, WRAIR; experimental virology study section, NIH; and Microbiology Training Committee, NIGMS, NIH. She has also served on the National Advisory General Medical Sciences Council; on the Board of Scientific Counselors, NIAID; as a consultant to the Immunopathology Laboratory, Scripps Institute for Medical Research; and on the editorial boards of virology and biological chemistry journals. She has authored or coauthored numerous books and scientific articles.

Directors of CSR

NameDate of Birth Dates of Office
Cassius James Van Slyke1900 January 1946Dec. 1, 1959
David E. PriceJuly 5, 191419481950
Ernest M. AllenDec. 1, 190419511960
Dale R. LindsayAug. 9, 191319601963
Eugene A. ConfreyApr. 6, 1922 October 19631969
Stephen P. HatchettJune 30, 1915 1969August 1976
Carl D. Douglass1928August 1976December 1985
Jerome G. GreenJune 20, 1929 January 1986June 1, 1995
Ellie EhrenfeldMarch 1, 1942 January 1997.........................


National Institutes of Health