Skip Over Navigation Links

The NIH Director

NIAID Director Anthony S. Fauci, M.D., Receives 2010 Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research

Sept. 10, 2010

Statement of Francis S. Collins, M.D., Ph.D. Director, National Institutes of Health

I want to congratulate Anthony S. Fauci, M.D., Director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, for receiving one of the most prestigious awards in biomedical research, the Dr. Paul Janssen Award.

NIH is extremely proud to see Dr. Fauci’s outstanding record of scientific achievement recognized in this way. I cannot think of a better person to receive this honor, which salutes researchers whose work has had a truly transformative impact on human health. Over the past three decades, Dr. Fauci’s seminal contributions to understanding immune-mediated disorders and combating viral diseases, particularly HIV/AIDS, have saved countless lives around the globe.

As government rules prohibited Dr. Fauci from accepting the monetary component the award, the Janssen committee elected to donate his share of the $100,000 in prize money to two public health organizations: Partners In Health, an international group dedicated to delivering quality health care to people and communities devastated by poverty and disease; and Us Helping Us, People Into Living, Inc., which is one of the largest nonprofit black AIDS organizations serving metropolitan Washington, D.C.  Along with Dr. Fauci’s ongoing commitment to leading-edge biomedical research, these actions will help to continue the fight against HIV/AIDS, and improve the health of many in the United States and abroad.

Dr. Paul Janssen was one of the 20th century's most gifted and passionate researchers. He helped save millions of lives through his contribution to the discovery and development of more than 80 medicines, four of which remain on the World Health Organization's list of essential medicines. The Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research was established by Johnson & Johnson to honor the memory of Dr. Paul. Past winners include Craig Mello, Marc Feldmann, Sir Ravinder Maini, and Axel Ullrich. Learn more about the award at

This page last reviewed on February 11, 2011

Social Media Links