T H E   N I H    C A T A L Y S T     J A N U A R Y  – F E B R U A R Y   2007


If you have a photo or other

graphic that reflects an aspect of life

(including laboratory life) or a

quotation that scientists might

appreciate that would be fit to print

in the space to the right, why not

send it to us via e-mail:

<catalyst@nih.gov>; fax: 402-4303; or mail: Building 2, Room 2E26.

Also, we welcome "letters to the editor" for publication and your reactions to anything on the Catalyst pages.


In Future Issues...

What's New in Biodefense?

Common Diseases and the Genome

Research Roundup


We hear this band hasn’t had a gig since October 2005, when it played the Wilson Hall at a send-off for Dushanka Kleinman, who had been detailed to the OD to get the NIH Roadmap up and running. After her success, she was returning to her home at NIDCR, where she was deputy director, and NIH wanted to thank her not only with commendations and food but with a rip-roaring musical tribute as well.

So this group that called itself "The Directors"—three guitarists and one keyboardist—was called in. They did a great job. They filled the hall with music both raucous and harmonic; invented lyrics that fit the occasion to songs like "Do the Locomotion," "Homeward Bound," and "On the Road Again"; and generally rocked out like there was no tomorrow. But we always thought there would surely be a tomorrow for so talented a crew. And we have waited these many months for their return to the stage. But, alas, they seem to have disappeared.

So we are running this picture just because it gives us pleasure simply to look at it and we’ve been wanting to for over a year now—and because Kids’ Catalyst ran long this issue (see p.15) we had this fitting space . . . .


The NIH Catalyst is published bi-monthly for and by the intramural scientists at NIH. Address correspondence to Building 2, Room 2E26, NIH, Bethesda, MD 20892. Ph: (301) 402-1449; fax: (301) 402-4303; e-mail: <catalyst@nih.gov>.

Michael Gottesman
Deputy Director for Intramural Research, OD

John I. Gallin
Director, NIH Clinical Center

Henry Metzger
Scientist Emeritus


Fran Pollner

Christopher Wanjek
Director of Communications, OIR

Shauna Roberts

Jennifer White


David Davies, NIDDK
Dale Graham, CIT
Elise Kohn, NCI
Susan Leitman, CC
Bernard Moss, NIAID
Paul Plotz, NIAMS
Joan Schwartz, NINDS
Gisela Storz, NICHD

Ronald Summers, CC


Return to Table of Contents