*** This page is archived and provided for reference purposes only ***

Skip Over Navigation Links

Freedom of Information Act Office

IC Directors' Meeting Highlights

To: IC Directors
From: Penny Burgoon, Senior Assistant to the Deputy Director
Subject: IC Directors' Meeting Highlights — January 11, 2007

Discussion Items

I. Performance Plans — Colleen Barros, Deputy Director, Office of Management and Chris Major, Director, Office of Human Resources

Colleen Barros outlined the recently updated process for Performance plans for SES and NIH Staff, asking for patience as the format and guidance from the Department had just recently come in and recognizing that turn around time for plan deadlines was very quick. Deadline for T-42 Senior-Level Scientist (NIH Deputy Directors, Institute and Center Directors, IC Deputy Directors, Scientific Directors, Clinical Directors, Directors of extramural programs who report directly to an IC Director, Associate Directors in the NIH Office of the Director and Office Heads in the OD who report directly to the NIH Director) performance plans has been extended to February 1.

Copies of Dr. Zerhouni’s plan outline both stretch goals (longer-term goals for NIH over the next few years) and 2007 programmatic goals. While only one stretch goal is required in SES and T-42 Senior-Level Scientist Performance Management plans; more can be used if applicable. Programmatic goals can be cascaded from Dr. Zerhouni’s plan; and developed to be IC specific.

Dr. Zerhouni offered that the performance elements identified were used to identify NIH leadership priorities and are meant to be straight forward and identify goals we think the NIH can deliver.

II. NIH Contributions to AIDS Research: Past, Present, and Future — Dr. Jack Whitescarver, Director, Office of AIDS Research

To acknowledge the tremendous progress in understanding, preventing and treating HIV/AIDS as a result of 25 years of AIDS research at NIH, the Office of AIDS Research (OAR) and NIAID initiated a new employee recognition award, the NIH World AIDS Day Award. Each year these awards, which include a $5,000 prize, will recognize NIH scientists and managers who have made exceptional contributions to the AIDS research efforts at NIH—either for original scientific research or for programmatic support for research. The establishment of the awards was announced at the NIH event marking 25 years of AIDS research last June. After a highly competitive process, four 2006 awardees were announced on World AIDS Day, December 1, 2006. The four awardees were: Dr. Edward Berger of NIAID, Drs. Robert Yarchoan and Dr. Hiroaki Mitsuya of NCI (a joint award), and Dr. Lynne Mofenson of NICHD. To showcase the most important contributions made by NIH scientists in advancing the science of AIDS, to recognize the winners of the new awards, and to highlight how those contributions will continue to shape the research agenda in the future, Dr. Jack Whitescarver, Associate Director of AIDS Research and Director of the Office of AIDS Research, organized a program, “NIH Contributions to AIDS Research: Past, Present and Future.” Each of the World AIDS Day awardees made a presentation to the IC Directors about their research findings, the applicability to other studies that have continued to advance the field, and the relevance to future research efforts. In addition to the awardees’ presentations, Dr. John Mascola of the NIAID Dale and Betty Bumpers Vaccine Research Center provided an overview of NIH efforts in AIDS vaccine research, and a look to the future for the potential development of vaccine candidates. Dr. Zerhouni presented plaques to the World AIDS Day awardees, and the IC Directors warmly congratulated them on their achievements.

Kerry Brink
cc: OD Staff
This page last reviewed on June 3, 2011

Social Media Links

*** This page is archived and provided for reference purposes only ***