NIH Press Release
Office of the Director

Friday, June 4, 1999

Anne Thomas
(301) 496-4461

NIH Announces New Clinical Research Curriculum Award

The National Institutes of Health announced today the first 35 recipients of a new Clinical Research Curriculum Award (called K30) designed to enhance future clinical research training. The total of the awards is $7 million.

These awards provide support to research institutions so that scientific investigators can receive didactic training in the fundamentals of clinical research. The didactic program will focus on multidisciplinary training in biostatistics, epidemiology, research project design, research ethics, legal and regulatory issues in human subject research, and other subjects.

The participants have a variety of clinical degrees and are now performing work supported by NIH training grants, other Federal awards, and/or non-Federal funds.

"NIH received so many high-quality applications for K30 awards," NIH Director Harold Varmus, M.D., explained, "that we funded 35 applications instead of our original goal of 20 awardees. It is very encouraging that there is so much enthusiasm for enhancing the quality and quantity of clinical research at a time when there are many scientific advances ready to be tested in the clinical arena."

All NIH components have contributed to the K30 program which will be administered by the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. (See list of awardee institutions at end.)

In addition to K30 awards, NIH has two other new initiatives for clinical research training: the mentored patient-oriented research development award (K23), and the mid-career investigator in patient-oriented research award (K24).


Baylor College of Medicine
Boston University
Brigham and Women's Hospital
Columbia University Health Sciences
Duke University Medical Center
Emory University
Johns Hopkins University
Mayo Foundation, Rochester, Minnesota
Medical College of Wisconsin
Michigan State University
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
New England Medical Center Hospitals, Incorporated
Ohio State University
Pennsylvania State University/The Milton S. Hershey Medical Center
Rush-Presbyterian-St. Lukes Medical Center
Sloan-Kettering Institute for Cancer Research
Stanford University
University of Florida
University of Alabama at Birmingham
University of California, San Francisco
University of Chicago
University of Colorado at Boulder
University of Michigan Medical Center
University of North Carolina
University of Pennsylvania
University of Pittsburgh
University of Rochester
University of Texas Health Science Center/Houston
University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center/Dallas
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Yale University
Yeshiva University