NIH Press Release
National Institute of
General Medical Sciences

Wednesday, Oct. 16, 1996

Four New Members Appointed to NIGMS Advisory Council

Four new members have been appointed to the National Advisory General Medical Sciences Council. They are David A. Clayton, Ph.D., of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI); Sarah C.R. Elgin, Ph.D., of Washington University; Steven M. Paul, M.D., of Eli Lilly and Company; and Christopher T. Walsh, Ph.D., of Harvard Medical School.

Clayton is a senior scientific officer at the HHMI in Chevy Chase, MD. Prior to joining HHMI in July 1996, he was a professor of developmental biology at Stanford University School of Medicine in California and served as associate director of the university’s Beckman Center for Molecular and Genetic Medicine. From 1977 to 1996, he was also the director of the NIGMS Medical Scientist Training Program at Stanford.

Elgin is a professor of biology and a professor of biochemistry and molecular biophysics at Washington University in St. Louis, MO. She has been a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science since 1988, serving as member-at-large for the section on biological sciences from 1991-1994. She has been active in science education at several levels, including as a member of the Working Group on Science Content Standards for the National Research Council.

Paul is vice president of the Lilly Research Laboratories, a component of Eli Lilly and Company in Indianapolis, IN. He is also a professor of pharmacology and psychiatry in the departments of pharmacology and toxicology and psychiatry at Indiana University School of Medicine. Prior to joining Lilly in 1993, Paul was the scientific director of the National Institute of Mental Health, where he had worked since 1976. He is a fellow of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology.

Walsh is the Hamilton Kuhn Professor in the department of biological chemistry and molecular pharmacology at Harvard Medical School in Boston, MA. From 1987-1995, he was chairman of the department, and from 1992-1995, he also served as president of the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. Walsh was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1989.