NIH Press Release
National Institute of
Allergy and Infectious Diseases

Tuesday, September 1, 1998

June R. Wyman
(301) 402-1663

NIAID Announces Funding for 12 Centers for AIDS Research

The National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID), along with five other NIH Institutes, has awarded more than $13 million for first-year funding for 12 Centers for AIDS Research (CFARs) across the United States.

The grants will provide three to five years of continued support for the Centers, which are based at leading AIDS research institutions around the country. CFARs provide a pool of shared resources - such as technical expertise, equipment and training - that is made available to local AIDS researchers. The Centers also advance AIDS research by facilitating interdisciplinary and international collaborations, technology transfer through academic-industry collaborations, research dissemination activities and promoting community outreach.

"HIV research requires expertise in multiple scientific fields and increasingly sophisticated procedures, so the integrated Center approach is an excellent way to achieve this goal," says NIAID Director Anthony S. Fauci, M.D.

First funded in 1988, the CFAR program has sponsored many exciting advances in AIDS research, including identification of new co-receptors for HIV, the role of cytotoxic

T-lymphocytes in early infection and in controlling virus replication, and the use of antiretroviral drugs as probes to understand the dynamics of HIV replication. The program also has developed centralized research laboratories with state-of-the-art facilities and techniques, such as flow cytometry and DNA sequencing equipment, and made these available to all AIDS researchers in that community.

The CFARs also are committed to addressing concerns of minority communities, where AIDS is of particular concern. The Centers explore ways to increase the number of minority scientists involved in AIDS research and to deal with problems related to enrollment and retention of women and minorities in AIDS clinical trials.

A new feature of the awards is that they will be funded jointly by NIAID and five other NIH Institutes: the National Cancer Institute; the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute; the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development; the National Institute on Drug Abuse; and the National Institute of Mental Health. For the first year, these institutes will contribute $7,030,000 and NIAID will pay $6,445,363, for a total of $13,475,362.

Of the twelve newly funded CFARs, six are renewals (indicated by asterisks below) and six are new grantees.

The awardees, with participating institutions and principal investigators, are:











These 12 newly funded sites are in addition to five ongoing CFARs at the following locations:

NIAID is a component of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). NIAID conducts and supports research to prevent, diagnose and treat illnesses such as HIV disease and other sexually transmitted diseases, tuberculosis, malaria, asthma and allergies. NIH is an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Press releases, fact sheets and other NIAID-related materials are available on the Internet via the NIAID web site at