PMI Working Group

In March 2015, NIH announced the formation of the Precision Medicine Initiative Working Group of the Advisory Committee to the (NIH) Director. The Working Group was charged with developing a framework for creating and managing a large research cohort to understand the variables that contribute to health and disease. Data and specimens should be accessible to researchers to conduct studies to contribute to the body of knowledge to develop treatments tailored to individuals. On September 17, 2015, the PMI Working Group delivered to the ACD a detailed report that provides a framework for building a national research cohort of 1 million or more Americans. Having fulfilled its charge, the PMI Working Group is no longer active. Learn more about the charge of the working group on the ACD PMI Working Group web page.

Read the Report


Richard Lifton, M.D., Ph.D.

Chair, Department of Genetics, Sterling Professor of Genetics and Professor of Medicine, Founder and Executive Director, Yale Center for Genomic Analysis, Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven, Connecticut

Bray Patrick-Lake, M.F.S.

Director of Stakeholder Engagement, Clinical Trials Transformation Initiative; Director of Patient Engagement, CTSA, Duke University, Durham, North Carolina

Kathy Hudson, Ph.D.

Deputy Director of Science, Outreach, and Policy, National Institutes of Health


Esteban Gonzalez Burchard, M.D., M.P.H.

Harry Wm. and Diana V. Hind Distinguished Professor in Pharmaceutical Sciences Professor and Vice Chair, Departments of Bioengineering & Therapeutic Sciences and Medicine Director, Center for Genes, Environments & Health University of California, San Francisco

Tony Coles, M.D. M.P.H.

Chairman and CEO, Yumanity Therapeutics, Cambridge, Massachusetts

Rory Collins, F.Med.Sci.

Professor of Medicine & Epidemiology, Nuffield Department of Population Health, University of Oxford, U.K.

Andrew J. Conrad, Ph.D.

Head of Life Sciences Team, Google X, Mountain View, California

Josh Denny, M.D.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Informatics and Medicine, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee

Eric Dishman

Intel Fellow & General Manager, Health & Life Sciences, Intel, Santa Clara, California

Kathy Giusti, M.B.A.

Founder and Executive Chairman, Multiple Myeloma Research Foundation, Norwalk, Connecticut

Sekar Kathiresan, M.D.

Director, Preventive Cardiology, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston; Institute Member, Broad Institute, Cambridge; Associate Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Boston

Sachin Kheterpal, M.D., M.B.A.

Associate Professor, Department of Anesthesiology, University of Michigan Medical School, Ann Arbor

Shiriki Kumanyika, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Emeritus Professor of Epidemiology, University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine

Spero M. Manson, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor and Director, Centers for American Indian and Alaska Native Health, Colorado School of Public Health, University of Colorado, Denver

P. Pearl O’Rourke, M.D.

Director, Human Research Affairs, Partners Health Care System, Inc., Boston

Richard Platt, M.D.

Professor and Chair of the Harvard Medical School Department of Population Medicine, Harvard Pilgrim Health Care Institute, Boston

Jay Shendure, M.D., Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Genome Sciences, University of Washington, Seattle

Sue Siegel, CEO, GE

Ventures & Healthymagination, Menlo Park, CA

Ex Officio Members

Robert Califf, M.D.

Deputy Commissioner for Medical Products and Tobacco, U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Karen B. DeSalvo, M.D., M.P.H., M.Sc.

Acting Assistant Secretary for Health, National Coordinator for Health Information Technology, Office of the National Coordinator, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Jo Handelsman, Ph.D.

Associate Director for Science, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy

Tim O’Leary, M.D.

Chief Research and Development Officer, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Terry Rauch, Ph.D.

Director of the Defense Medical Research and Development Program, U.S. Department of Defense

This page last reviewed on December 13, 2016