

Office of Science and Technology Policy Executive Office of the President New Executive Office Building

New Executive Office Building Washington, DC 20502

For Immediate Release: November 1, 2007

Contact: Kristin Scuderi 202-456-6124 kscuderi@ostp.eop.gov

WHITE HOUSE ANNOUNCES 2006 AWARDS FOR EARLY CAREER SCIENTISTS AND ENGINEERS

WASHINGTON – The White House today will announce the recipients of the 2006 Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, the Nation's highest honor for professionals at the outset of their independent scientific research careers. Fifty-six researchers will be honored today in a ceremony presided over by John H. Marburger III, Science Advisor to the President and Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. Two awardees were unable to attend.

The Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, established in 1996, honors the most promising researchers in the Nation within their fields. Nine federal departments and agencies annually nominate scientists and engineers who are at the start of their independent careers and whose work shows exceptional promise for leadership at the frontiers of scientific knowledge. Participating agencies award these talented scientists and engineers with up to five years of funding to further their research in support of critical government missions.

The recipients of the 2006 Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, along with their nominating federal department or agency are:

Department of Agriculture

Douglas D. Bannerman, USDA Agricultural Research Service

Sarah D. Brooks, Texas A&M University

Samuel A. Cushman, USDA Forest Service

Department of Commerce

Casey Brown, Columbia University

Mark Scheuerell, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Kathryn L. Beers, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Joshua C. Bienfang, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Department of Defense

Odest C. Jenkins, Brown University

Kenneth C. Slatton, University of Florida

Jonathan E. Spanier, Drexel University

Jacob L. Roberts, Colorado State University

Krystyn J. Van Vliet, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Jelena Vuckovic, Stanford University

Department of Education

Carol McDonald Connor, Florida State University

Department of Energy

Brian J. Kirby, Cornell University

Jeffrey Kysar, Columbia University

Carols Pantano Rubino, University of Illinois

Shawn Newsam, University of California, Merced

Kyle Cranmer, Brookhaven National Laboratory

Julia Laskin, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Ho Nyung Lee, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Len A. Pennacchio, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Department of Health and Human Services: National Institutes of Health

Katrina Akassoglou, University of California, San Diego

Jeanmarie Houghton, University of Massachusetts

Jay R. Hove, University of Cincinnati

Sven-Eric Jordt, Yale University

Susan M. Kaech, Yale University

Bruce D. McCandliss, Cornell University

Alexandra C. McPherron, National Institutes of Health

Gus R. Rosania, University of Michigan

J. Peter Rubin, University of Pittsburgh

Ravindra N. Singh, Iowa State University

Michelle P. Winn, Duke University

Adam T. Woolley, Brigham Young University

National Aeronautics and Space Administration

Olivier Guyon, Subaru Telescope

Matthew Rodell, Goddard Space Flight Center

National Science Foundation

Sonya Bahar, University of Missouri-ST. Louis

Bahar Biller, Carnegie-Mellon University

Matthew J. Fouch, Arizona State University

Eric C. Greene, Columbia University

Pradeep R. Guduru, Brown University

Jenefer Husman, Arizona State University

Dean S. Karlan, Yale University

Brian G. Keating, University of California, San Diego

Kiran Kedlaya, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Edward Kohler, University of California, Los Angeles

J. Nicholas Laneman, University of Notre Dame

Chekesha M. Liddell, Cornell University

Elliot Moore II, Georgia Institute of Technology

Amy J. Pruden-Bagchi, Colorado State University

Carlos Rinaldi, University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez

James P. Schmiedeler, Ohio State University

Ahna Skop, University of Wisconsin

Yi Tang, University of California, Los Angeles

Joseph W. Thornton, University of Oregon, Eugene

Lisa M. Zurk, Portland State University

Department of Veterans Affairs

Sterling C. Johnson, William S. Middleton VA Hospital

William S. Yancy, Jr., Durham VA Medical Center

###