December 16, 2021


A Farewell to Dr. Francis Collins

Francis S. Collins, M.D., Ph.D., is stepping down as NIH director on December 19, 2021, after more than 12 years at the helm. A physician-geneticist, Dr. Collins took office as the 16th NIH director on August 17, 2009, after being appointed by President Barack Obama and confirmed by the U.S. Senate. In 2017, he was asked to continue in his role by President Donald Trump, and in 2021, by President Joe Biden. The longest serving presidentially appointed NIH Director, Dr. Collins' impact on biomedical research and the health of the nation is difficult to overstate. From launching the Brain Research Through Advancing Innovative Technologies (BRAIN) Initiative to spearheading NIH’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic, Dr. Collins has steered the country’s largest medical research agency with a calm hand, a scientific mind, and a deep commitment to the well-being of all Americans.

“Millions of people will never know Dr. Collins saved their lives. Countless researchers will aspire to follow in his footsteps. And I will miss the counsel, expertise, and good humor of a brilliant mind and dear friend.”

— President Joe Biden

Video Tribute

More than 100 prominent figures from around the world created videos to pay tribute to Dr. Collins and wish him well as he transitions back to working in the lab at the National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) and contemplates his next career steps. You also can watch individual videos using the Video Album directory.

Academia, Public Health, & Scientific Research

The Arts

Directors of NIH Institutes & Centers

Diana Bianchi, Eunice Kennedy Shriver Institute of Child Health and Human Development

Patricia Flatley Brennan, National Library of Medicine

Noni Byrnes, Center for Scientific Review

Michael Chiang, National Eye Institute

Lindsey Criswell, National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases

Rena D'Souza, National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research

Anthony Fauci, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases

Gary Gibbons, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute

James Gilman, NIH Clinical Center

Roger Glass, Fogarty International Center

Joshua Gordon, National Institute of Mental Health

Eric Green, National Human Genome Research Institute

Richard Hodes, National Institute on Aging

George Koob, National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism

Walter Koroshetz, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke

Helene Langevin, National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health

Jon Lorsch, National Institute of General Medical Sciences

Andrea Norris, Center for Information Technology

Eliseo Pérez-Stable, National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities

Griffin Rodgers, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases

Joni Rutter, National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences

Ned Sharpless, National Cancer Institute

Bruce Tromberg, National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering

Debara Tucci, National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders

Nora Volkow, National Institute on Drug Abuse

Rick Woychik, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

Shannon Zenk, National Institute of Nursing Research


NIH Staff — Current

Patrice Allen-Gifford, NIH Executive Secretariat

James Anderson, NIH Deputy Director for Program Coordination, Planning, and Strategic Initiatives

Janine Austin Clayton, Director, NIH Office of Research on Women’s Health

Rebecca Baker, Director, NIH HEAL Initiative

Julie Broussard Berko, NIH Chief People Officer

Marie Bernard, NIH Chief Officer for Scientific Workforce Diversity

John Burklow, Acting NIH Chief of Staff

Brittany Chao, Scientific Special Assistant to the NIH Principal Deputy Director

Joshua Denny, Chief Executive Officer, All of Us Research Program

Stephanie Devaney, Chief Operating Officer, All of Us Research Program

Diane Frasier, Director, NIH Office of Acquisition and Logistics Management

John Gallin, Scientific Director, NIH Clinical Center

Matthew Gillman, Director, NIH ECHO Program

Michael Gottesman, NIH Deputy Director for Intramural Research

Adrienne Hallett and Lauren Higgins, Director and Deputy Director, NIH Office of Legislative Policy & Analysis

Darla Hayes, Associate Director for Management, NIH Office of the Director

Alfred Johnson, NIH Deputy Director for Management

Lyric Jorgenson, Acting Director, NIH Office of Science Policy

Mike Lauer, NIH Deputy Director for Extramural Research

Colleen McGowan, Director, NIH Office of Research Services

Sharon Milgram, Director, NIH Office of Intramural Training and Education

David Murray, Director, NIH Office of Disease Prevention

Renate Myles, Acting Director, Office of Communications and Public Liaison

Ashley Parker, NIH Health Science Policy Analyst

William Riley, Director, NIH Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research

Tara Schwetz, Acting NIH Principal Deputy Director

Lawrence Tabak, Acting NIH Director, with his son, Benjamin Tabak, Assistant Professor, Southern Methodist University

Dan Wheeland, Director, NIH Office of Research Facilities

NIH Staff — Former

Nonprofit & Advocacy


Spiritual Leaders


U.S. Government Officials — Current

U.S. Government Officials — Former

U.S. Presidents & Vice Presidents

This page last reviewed on December 6, 2022