News Release

Monday, May 19, 2008

NINR Welcomes Three New Members to Advisory Council for Nursing Research

Three new members to the National Advisory Council for Nursing Research (NACNR), the principal advisory board for the National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR), were announced today. The advisory council meets three times a year to provide recommendations on the conduct and support of biomedical, social, and behavioral research that provides an evidence base for nursing practice. NINR, one of the National Institutes of Health, supports clinical and basic research to establish a scientific basis for the care of individuals across the lifespan.

Members of the advisory council are drawn from the scientific and lay communities, embodying a diverse perspective from the fields of nursing, public and health policy, law, and economics. An important role of the council is to provide a second level of review of grant applications that have been scored by scientific review groups.

At the upcoming NACNR meeting on May 20-21, 2008, NINR Director Patricia A. Grady, Ph.D. RN, FAAN, will introduce the following new members:

Stanley Finkelstein, Ph.D., is a professor of laboratory medicine and pathology in the Medical School at the University of Minnesota. He is also the director of the Schmitt Center for Home Telehealth, established within the Division of Health Informatics at the University of Minnesota. Dr. Finkelstein is an electrical and biomedical engineer whose research utilizes engineering principles to develop monitoring systems for chronic illnesses. He served as director of graduate studies for both Biomedical Engineering and Health Informatics graduate programs for many years. Dr. Finkelstein is a fellow of the American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering, and is a member of the Editorial Board of the journal IEEE Transactions on Information Technology in Biomedicine. His particular area of research is in the design and evaluation of home telehealth systems for patient monitoring in chronic diseases, home telehealth, medical informatics, and vascular compliance.

Diana E. Lake, M.D., is a medical oncologist at the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York City. She received her medical degree from the Chicago Medical School. She is board certified in Internal Medicine, Medical Oncology, and Hematology. Her practice is devoted to the care of breast cancer patients, and her research interests involve all areas of breast cancer with a focus on the development of new therapies, prevention of cancer recurrence following surgery, and treatment of recurrent disease. Working in conjunction with the Breast Cancer Medicine Service at Memorial Sloan-Kettering and as the liaison in breast medicine to Cancer and Leukemia Group B (a national clinical trial cooperative research group sponsored by the National Cancer Institute), she is involved in clinical trials to develop better hormonal therapies and improved approaches to treatment before surgery. Dr. Lake has served on the NIH Cooperative Group Review and its Cancer Education committees.

Marla E. Salmon Sc.D., RN, FAAN, is the current dean of the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing at Emory University, and will be taking over as the Dean of the University of Washington School of Nursing effective Oct. 1, 2008. She was awarded a doctor of science from the Johns Hopkins University School of Hygiene and Public Health in 1977, and received a master of science from the University of Portland School of Nursing in 1999. She also studied as a Fulbright Scholar at the University of Cologne in Germany. Dr. Salmon is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences and serves on the board of trustees of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and on the boards of directors for the Institute for the International Education of Students and the National Center for Healthcare Leadership. She is a member of the Nursing Commission for the Joint Commission on Healthcare Accreditation and the editorial board for books at Sigma Theta Tau International, the honor society for nursing. She is past chair of the World Health Organization’s Global Advisory Group on Nursing and Midwifery. Dr. Salmon’s scholarship has focused on national and international workforce policy and development.

The primary mission of the NINR, one of 27 Institutes and Centers at the National Institutes of Health, is to support clinical and basic research and establish a scientific basis for the care of individuals across the lifespan. For additional information, visit the NINR web site at

About the National Institutes of Health (NIH): NIH, the nation's medical research agency, includes 27 Institutes and Centers and is a component of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NIH is the primary federal agency conducting and supporting basic, clinical, and translational medical research, and is investigating the causes, treatments, and cures for both common and rare diseases. For more information about NIH and its programs, visit

NIH…Turning Discovery Into Health®