Jay Moskowitz, Ph.D.

Principal Deputy Director and Deputy Director for Science Policy and Technology Transfer, March 1993 - October 1993

Dr. Moskowitz was named by the NIH director as NIH principal deputy director and NIH deputy director for science policy and technology transfer in March 1993. He voluntarily resigned in October 1993.

In October 1993, Dr. Moskowitz became deputy director of the National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD) and acting director of NIDCD's Division of Intramural Research. He earlier served as founding and acting director of NIDCD, which was established in 1988.

Dr. Moskowitz joined NIH in 1969 as a postdoctoral pharmacology research associate with the National Institute of General Medical Sciences. In 1971 he became a grants associate with the Division of Research Grants.

From 1972 to 1986, Dr. Moskowitz held several administrative positions with the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI). As acting chief of the Special Programs and Resources Branch, NHLBI, he was responsible for planning and developing the Young Investigator Pulmonary Research Grant Program.

From 1986 to 1987, Dr. Moskowitz was NIH associate director for program planning and evaluation and executive director of the NIH Centennial Observance. From 1987 to 1993, Dr. Moskowitz was NIH associate director for science policy and legislation.

A graduate of Queens College, City University of New York, Dr. Moskowitz received his Ph.D. in 1969 from Brown University. He is the recipient of numerous honors and awards, including the NIH Director's Award in 1987, the PHS Superior Service Award in 1980, the Senior Executive Service Meritorious Executive Rank Award in 1989, and the DHHS Distinguished Service Award in 1991.

Dr. Moskowitz left NIH in 1995. He became senior associate dean (science and technology) and professor of public health sciences at the Wake Forest University School of Medicine in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, and in 2002 was appointed associate vice president for health sciences research and professor of health policy and administration and vice dean for research and professor of medicine at Penn State College of Medicine.

This page last reviewed on August 7, 2015