The NIH Climate Change and Health Initiative is an urgent, cross-cutting NIH effort to reduce health threats from climate change across the lifespan and build health resilience in individuals, communities, and nations around the world, especially among those at highest risk.

Strategic Framework

The NIH Climate Change and Health Initiative Strategic Framework includes input from the scientific and stakeholder communities. The Framework provides the initial planning of how the NIH community will address climate change and health.

View the Strategic Framework

Strategic Framework Fact Sheet

Seminar Series

NIH Institutes and Centers (IC) have joined forces to educate and inform colleagues and the public about the human health implications of climate change. This series will present webinars from different ICs highlighting work in the field of climate change while promoting transdisciplinary discussion and collaboration in this concerted effort against an extreme threat to health.

Literature Portal

Locate the most relevant scientific literature on the health implications of climate change.

Climate Change and Health Literature Portal

Participating Institutes and Centers

The NIH Climate Change and Health Initiative is led by an Executive Committee comprising the Directors of seven NIH Institutes and Centers. The NIEHS Director chairs the Executive Committee and NIEHS provides the Initiative's administrative home.

Executive Committee

NIH Climate Change and Health Working Group

Aubrey Miller, M.D., NIEHS, Co-chair
Joshua Rosenthal, Ph.D., FIC, Co-chair
Gwen Collman, Ph.D., NIEHS, Strategic Advisor

Steering Committee

Regina Bures
Program Director;
Population Dynamics Branch;
NIH/NICHD
regina.bures@nih.gov

Larry Fine
NIH/NHLBI
finel@nhlbi.nih.gov

Lee Hall
Chief, Parasitology and International Programs Branch
NIH/NIAID
lhall@niaid.nih.gov

Flora Katz
Director, Division of International Training and Research;
NIH/FIC
katzf@mail.nih.gov

Megan Kinnane
Senior Advisor to the Director;
NIH/NIMH
megan.kinnane@nih.gov

Aubrey Miller
Senior Medical Advisor
NIH/NIEHS
miller.aubrey@nih.gov

Ivan Navarro
NIH/NIMHD
ivan.navarro@nih.gov

Louise Rosenbaum
Science Policy Analyst;
NIH/NINR
rosenbauml@mail.nih.gov

Joshua Rosenthal
Senior Scientist;
Division of Epidemiology and Population Studies
NIH/FIC
joshua.rosenthal@nih.gov

Claudia Thompson
Chief, Population Health Branch;
Division of Extramural Research and Training;
NIH/NIEHS
thompso1@niehs.nih.gov

Related Links