IC Directors’ Meeting Highlights — Thursday, July 28, 2016

Announcements: Francis Collins

Dr. Collins welcomed the new Office of the Director leadership to the meeting – Mr. Eric Dishman and Drs. Maureen Goodenow and Matthew Gillman, and announced the new NIMH Director, Dr. Joshua Gordon.

Appendix/Post-Submission Policies and Final RPPR: Mike Lauer

Dr. Lauer (DDER) provided an overview of the current appendix/post-submission policies and the challenges with these policies, as well as proposed policies. A presentation on the proposed changes to the RPRR policy was also given. The discussion focused on the impact on type 2 grants.

Physician Workforce: Larry Tabak

Dr. Tabak (DEPD) presented on a recent analysis of the current state and outcomes of the physician/clinician scientist workforce. Possible solutions to address the existing challenges were also provided. The discussion focused on the data for the MST program and T32s, additional solutions and the possible adverse incentives of all the proposed solutions, factors outside the influence of NIH and how to address them, and how to link and possibly shorten the career path stages.

This page last reviewed on August 2, 2016