Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is comprised of scientific executives representing both U.S government agencies and industry. It is responsible for overseeing the activities and operations of the four working groups, including reviewing evaluations of experimental agents recommended for preclinical testing and clinical trials by the four working groups and the master protocols designed to test them


Francis Collins, M.D., Ph.D. (Co-Chair)
National Institutes of Health

Paul Stoffels, M.D. (Co-Chair)
Vice Chairman of the Executive Committee and Chief Scientific Officer
Johnson & Johnson

Gary Disbrow, Ph.D.
Acting Director
Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority, HHS

Mikael Dolsten, M.D., Ph.D.
Chief Scientific Officer and President, Worldwide Research, Development and Medical

Anthony Fauci, M.D.
Director, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases
National Institutes of Health

Gary Gibbons, M.D.
Director, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
National Institutes of Health

Peter Marks, M.D., Ph.D.
Director, Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research
U.S. Food and Drug Administration

William Pao, M.D., Ph.D.
Head of Pharma Research and Early Development (pRED)

Andrew Plump, M.D., Ph.D.
President, Research & Development
Takeda Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd.

Janet Woodcock, M.D.
Operation Warp Speed, Therapeutics

This page last reviewed on December 23, 2020